Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon 
Text Size


Veteran Gene Claxton of Kansas City, Mo. took the win in the Modified A-main feature to highlight Saturday's Super Showdown Stock Car Series at Speedway.

Topekans Steven Bowers Jr. and Billy Robison finished second and third behind Claxton, while Manhattan's Chase Junghans and Osage City's Ryan Phillips rounded out the top five.

Nic Bidinger of Perry nailed down the sixth spot in the Modified feature, while Kyle Covert (Topeka), Tom Charles (Bonner Springs), Danny Holt (Topeka) and Todd Topil (Eudora) finished out the top 10.

Burlingame's Josh Everhart took the checkered flag in the feature in the Champ Modified division, followed by Dustin Thulin (Topeka), Danny Trimble (Topeka), Christopher Dishong (Atchison) and Bobby Penney (Lawson, Mo.).

Topekan Shane Wettengel was the Factory Stock feature winner Saturday, beating Josh Stevenson of Americus to the finish line. Bryan Rigsby (Topeka) finished third, followed by Bob Troutwine (Topeka) and Eric Weyer (Centralia).

John Bass of Topeka was Saturday's Hobby Stock winner, while Zachary Henery (Berryton), Dylan Whitehead (Overland Park), Rob Michael (Baldwin) and Dan Canady (Topeka) completed the top five.

The Saturday Night Super Showdown Stock Car Series will take the night off this week before the series returns to action on June 6th.

Saturday's feature results

Champ Modified -- 1. Josh Everhart, Burlingame; 2. Dustin Thulin, Topeka; 3. Danny Trimble, Eudora; 4. Christopher Dishong, Atchison; 5. Bobby Penney, Lawson, Mo.; 6. Derek Huffman, Topeka; 7. Marty Grist, Topeka; 8. Jay Bailey, Lyndon; 9. Richard Prochnow, Pomona; 10. Jack Cammarn, Chapman.

Factory Stock -- 1. Shane Wettengel, Topeka; 2. Josh Stevenson, Americus; 3. Bryan Rigsby, Topeka; 4. Bob Troutwine, Topeka; 5. Eric Weyer, Centralia; 6. David Samuels, Topeka; 7. James King, Americus; 8. Richard Jameson, Kansas City, Kan.; 9. Mike Ireland, Topeka; 10. Leif Weyer, Centralia.

Hobby Stock -- 1. John Bass, Topeka; 2. Zachary Henery, Berryton; 3. Dylan Whitehead, Overland Park; 4. Rob Michael, Baldwin; 5. Dan Canady, Topeka; 6. Darren Davenport, Tecumseh; 7. John Fleury, Ogden.

Modified -- 1. Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.; 2. Steven Bowers Jr., Topeka; 3. Billy Robison, Topeka; 4. Chase Junghans, Manhattan; 5. Ryan Phillips, Osage City; 6. Nic Bidinger, Perry; 7. Kyle Covert, Topeka; 8. Tom Charles, Bonner Springs; 9. Danny Holt, Topeka; 10. Todd Topil, Eudora.