Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon 
Text Size

Facility Modifications at Heartland Park Topeka on Track for AMA Pro Road Racing's August Return

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 3, 2009) - In preparation for AMA Pro Road Racing's return to Heartland Park Topeka, AMA Pro Racing competition officials, in addition to AMA Pro American Superbike rider and Rider Safety Committee member Josh Hayes, recently visited the facility to check the status of recommended changes.В 

AMA Pro Officials were satisfied with the progress being made on the improvements suggested during the first meeting in January, which included recommendations by Hayes and other riders on the committee.В  All were confident in the track officials' commitment of continuing to improve safety at the facility and were enthused by the continued commitment of the track to make appropriate changes prior to the August event.
The circuit, which has seen millions of dollars in renovations in recent years, was also host to Team Hammer's two-up media outreach program.В В  Twelve local journalists took advantage of the rides in promotion of the upcoming AMA Pro event, which will be held from July 31st to August 2nd and is officially deemed the Tornado Nationals presented by В In addition, Cameron Gray, President and CEO of M1 Entertainment and promoter of the highly-successful AMA Pro Suzuki Big Kahuna Nationals at Virginia International Raceway, was in attendance and is currently in market promoting the event to local fans and media.
"We believe that this is an important market for the sport," said Ollie Dean, Vice President of Marketing and Communications for AMA Pro Racing. "The work that the staff of Heartland Park Topeka has undertaken with the goal of improving the facility has furthered our resolve that we have the best possible promoter partner to realize the full potential of this market."
The track is no stranger to top-tier competition by first class riders.В  AMA Pro Road Racing events held from 1989 to 1991 saw wins from 1989 Daytona 200 winner John Ashmead and AMA Pro American Superbike Champions Scott Russell, Miguel Duhamel and Doug Chandler.В 

# # #В