Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon 
Text Size


  Topeka’s Darron Fuqua outlasted 23 other competitors to take the checkered flag in the Modified class Sunday in the Super Showdown Stock Car Series.   The weekly series was held on Sunday this past week to accommodate the Division V Heartland Championships drag racing event, which concluded Saturday night.   Leavenworth standout Justin Boney finished second behind Fuqua, while Chris Morgan (Topeka), Scott Crystal (Overland Park) and Jake Richards (Kansas City, Kan.) rounded out the top five in the Modified class.   Nic Bidinger (Perry), who was coming off a big win at Lakeside Friday night, finished sixth, while Kyle Stallbaumer (Tecumseh), Gene Claxton (Kansas City, Mo.), Don Crnkovich (Lenexa) and Joey Selbach (Silver Lake) completed the top 10.   Rusty Trimble of Kansas City, Kan. was the Champ Mod winner Sunday, followed by Brian Neiberger (Meriden), David Chambers (Yates Center), Justin Boots (Welda) and Lance Lincoln (Topeka).   Americus’ Tyson Young visited victory lane in Factory Stock, followed by Topeka veteran Shane Wettengel. James King (Americus) was third, while David Samuels (Topeka) and Eric Weyer (Centralia) rounded out the top five.   Sunday’s Hobby Stock winner was Topeka’s Brian Stich, while Berryton’s Zachary Henery finished second. Dylan Whitehead (Overland Park) finished third, while John Bass (Topeka) was fourth and Adam Fleagle (Seneca) fifth.Super Showdown Dirt SeriesSunday's feature resultsChamp Mod -- 1. Rusty Trimble, Kansas City, Kan.; 2. Brian Neiberger, Meriden; 3. David Chambers, Yates Center; 4. Justin Boots, Welda; 5. Lance Lincoln, Topeka; 6. Ray Maloney, Iola; 7. Brian Murphy, Topeka; 8. Jesse Shotts, Topeka; 9. Jay Bailey, Lyndon; 10. Richard Prochnow, Pomona.Factory Stock -- 1. Tyson Young, Americus; 2. Shane Wettengel, Topeka; 3. James King, Americus; 4. David Samuels, Topeka; 5. Eric Weyer, Centralia; 6. Paul Snyder, Wellsville; 7. Bryan Rigsby, Topeka; 8. Josh Henery, Overbrook; 9. Shaun Still, Topeka; 10. Josh Stevenson, Emporia.Hobby Stock -- 1. Brian Stich, Topeka; 2. Zachary Henery, Berryton; 3. Dylan Whitehead, Overland Park; 4. John Bass, Topeka; 5. Adam Fleagle, Seneca; 6. Dan Canady, Topeka; 7. A.J. Christian, Topeka; 8. Darren Davenport, Tecumseh; 9. Jim Streeter, Everest; 10. Rodney Walker, Easton.Modified -- 1. Darron Fuqua, Topeka; 2. Justin Boney, Leavenworth; 3. Chris Morgan, Topeka; 4. Scott Crystal, Overland Park; 5. Jake Richards, Kansas City, Kan.; 6. Nic Bidinger, Perry; 7. Kyle Stallbaumer, Tecumseh; 8. Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.; 9. Don Crnkovich, Lenexa; 10. Joey Selbach, Silver Lake.