Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon 
Text Size


Topekan Marty Grist tightened up the Champ Mod points race with his first feature win of the year in Saturday's Super Shodown Series dirt track event, which drew a track-record 104 cars to Speedway.

Grist, who began the night 32 points behind fellow Topekan Lance Lincoln in the Champ Mod standings, beat Hoyt's Rick Dreasher to the finish line, with Jesse Shotts (Topeka) third, Lincoln fourth and Brandon Mitchell (Topeka) fifth.

Modified points leader Ryan Phillips of Osage City boosted his lead with a freature win Saturday, finishing ahead of Kerry Davis (Parkville, Mo.), Jake Richards (Kansas City, Kan.), Steven Bowers Jr. (Topeka) and Danny Holt (Topeka).

Topeka's David Samuels, in a heated points battle with several racers, won the Factory Stock feature, with Josh Stevenson (Emporia), Shaun Still (Topeka), Josh Henery (Overbrook) and Eric Weyer (Centralia) rounding out the top five.

Overland Park's Dylan Whitehead, who has dominated the Hobby Stock class, added another win Saturday, while Zachary Henery (Berryton), John Bass (Topeka), A.J. Christian (Topeka) and Brian Stich (Topeka) rounded out the top five.

Super Showdown Stock Car Series

Saturday's feature results

Factory Stock - 1. David Samuels, Topeka; 2. Josh Stevenson, Emporia; 3. Shaun Still, Topeka; 4. Josh Henery, Overbrook; 5. Eric Weyer, Centralia; 6. James King, Americus; 7. Shane Wettengel, Topeka; 8. Paul Snyder, Wellsville; 9. Leif Weyer, Centralia; 10. Heath Murry, Tonganoxie.

Modified - 1. Ryan Phillips, Osage City; 2. Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.; 3. Jake Richards, Kansas City, Kan.; 4. Steven Bowers Jr., Topeka; 5. Danny Holt, Topeka; 6. Robert Shepard, Ogden; 7. Josh Everhart, Burlingame; 8. Nic Bidinger, Perry; 9. Kyle Covert, Topeka; 10. Jim Hernandez Jr., Topeka.

Champ Mod - 1. Marty Grist, Topeka; 2. Rick Dreasher, Hoyt; 3. Jesse Shotts, Topeka; 4. Lance Lincoln, Topeka; 5. Brandon MItchell, Topeka; 6. Jay Bailey, Lyndon; 7. David Chambers, Yates Center; 8. Justin Boots, Welda; 9. Shane Golden, Perry; 10. Ray Maloney, Iola.

Hobby Stock - 1. Dylan Whitehead, Overland Park; 2. Zachary Henery, Berryton; 3. John Bass, Topeka; 4. A.J. Christian, Topeka; 5. Brian Stich, Topeka; 6. Bret Houk, Lawrence; 7. Shaun Still, Topeka; 8. Richard Smith, Severance; 9. Jim Streeter, Everest; 10. Rodney Walker, Easton.