Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon 
Text Size

HPT Wins Team Championship

The team representing Heartland Park Topeka's bracket drag racing series, made the home-track advantage pay off Sunday, with HPT claiming the team championship in the West Central Division E.T. Finals.

Heartland Park edged Tri-Stae Raceway of Earlville, Iowa, 52-50 for the championship.

Tom Williams of Leonardville, KS led Team HTP with the championship in the Super Pro class.

Williams was unopposed in the final round, with Wichita's Dan Welch, racing for Kansas International Dragway, unable to make the race because of a blown engine.

Other champions crowned Sunday included Todd Larson, of Bagley, Minn., in Pro, Hays' Darrel Goheen in Sportsman, Michael Nichols, of Knoxville, Iowa, in the Motorcycle division and Kyle Tripp, of Golden, Colo., in the High School class.

Tripp defeated Chase native Jaron Miller in the High School final.

Williams, Larson, Goheen and Nichols will have the opportunity to race for a national championship at the NHRA Finals in Pomona, Calif., in November. The winners in each of the top four classes will face off against the winners from NHRA's other six divisions.


1.) Heartland Park Topeka 52

2.) Tri-State Raceway 50

3.) Kansas City International Raceway 46

4.) Eddyville Raceway Park 45

4.) Bandimere Speedway 45

6.) Brainerd International Raceway 41

6.) Interstate Dragways 41

8.) SRCA Dragstrip 40

9.) Cordova Dragway Park 34

9.) Kansas International Dragway 34

11.) Rock Falls Raceway 33

12.) Grove Creek Raceway 32

13.) Pueblo Motorsports Park 29

14.) Kearney Raceway Park 28

15.) Rolling Thunder Dragstrip 26

16.) Cedar Falls Raceway 21

17.) Oahe Speedway 19

18.) Dougls Motorsports Park 15

19.) Western Colorado Dragway 11

20.) Julesburg Dragway 1



Super Pro -- Tom Williams, Leonardville, Heartland Park Topeka took the green light to def. Dan Welch, Wichita., Kansas International Dragway, broke.

Pro -- Todd Larson, Bagley, Minn., Interstate Dragways, 11.150 seconds, 119.06 miles per hour, def. Bob Ingman, Andover, Minn., Brainerd International Raceway, 10.665, 124.57.

Sportsman -- Darrel Goheen, Hays., SRCA Dragstrip, 12.350, 107.25, def. Rick Schillereff, Denver, Colo., Bandimere Speedway, 12.608, 105.25.

Motorcycle -- Michael Nichols, Knoxville, Iowa, 9.614, 130.32, def. Tom Gilligan, Fremont, Neb., Kearney Raceway, 9.002, 142.96.

High School -- Kyle Tripp, Golden, Colo., Bandimere Speedway, 11.352, 117.65, def. Jaron Miller, Chase., SRCA Dragstrip, foul.